“100 Years of Women Voting” Symposium

USCHS thanks the presenters, viewers, and event partners who made its 2020 Annual Symposium a success! 100 Years of Women Voting was co-sponsored by the Kluge Center at the Library of Congress and made possible by the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission.

Scroll down to view session recordings.

August 27 at Noon EDT


Christina Wolbrecht

Professor of Political Science at the University of Notre Dame; Director of the Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy; C. Robert and Margaret Hanley Family Director of the Washington Program




September 3 at Noon EDT
“Race and Gender in Politics: The Last 100 Years”

(L-R, top to bottom): Liette Gidlow, Rep. Marcia Fudge, Andra Gillespie, Cathleen Cahill

Liette Gidlow
Harvard University and Wayne State University

Rep. Marcia Fudge
U.S. House of Representatives, OH-11

Andra Gillespie
Emory University

Cathleen Cahill
Penn State




September 10 at Noon EDT
“Diverse Voices from the Suffrage Movement”

(L-R, top to bottom): Jacqueline Jones Royster, Nancy Bird-Soto, Lori Harrison-Kahan, Elizabeth Novara

Jacqueline Jones Royster
Georgia Tech

Nancy Bird-Soto
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Lori Harrison-Kahan
Boston College

Elizabeth Novara
Library of Congress




September 17 at Noon EDT
“Women in Leadership”

(L-R, top to bottom) Hon. Jane L. Campbell, Hon. Cheryl L. Johnson, Hon. Mary Landrieu, Michele Swers

Hon. Jane L. Campbell
U.S. Capitol Historical Society

Hon. Cheryl L. Johnson
Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives

Hon. Mary Landrieu
Van Ness Feldman, LLP; U.S. Senate, LA, 1997-2015

Michele Swers
Georgetown University



September 24 at Noon EDT
“Gender and Political Participation”

(L-R, top to bottom): Colleen Shogan, Bettye Collier-Thomas, Kay Schlozman, Catherine Wineinger

Colleen Shogan
David M. Rubenstein National Center for White House History

Bettye Collier-Thomas
Temple University

Kay Schlozman
Boston College

Catherine Wineinger
Western Washington University



October 1 at Noon EDT



Martha Jones
Johns Hopkins University